Mexico Essentials

Mexico’s Spring Clock Change in 2020

Details about Mexico's clock-time changes in Spring 2020

Spring Clock-Time Changes

Except for two Mexican states that do not observe Daylight Savings Time (DST), Mexico moves its clocks forward by one hour in the spring of 2020.  Some parts of Mexico move their spring clocks forward on the first Sunday in March (in line with the U.S.) and most of Mexico moves its clocks forward on the first Sunday in April.

The Mexican states of Sonora and Quintana Roo are not observing DST in 2020

The Mexican states of Sonora (bordering Arizona and New Mexico in the US) and Quintana Roo (which includes the popular resorts of Cancun, Playa del Carmen, Tulum, and the islands of Isla Mujeres and Cozumel) will not observe DST in 2020.

Spring Clock Changes in Mexico in 2020
(“Spring Forward”)

The state of Baja California (not to be confused with Baja California Sur) and  Mexican cities immediately bordering the US (including Juárez, Reynosa, and Matamoros) moves clocks forward one hour at 2 a.m. on Sunday March 8, 2020.

DST across most of Mexico —Zona Centro and Zona Pacifico— and Baja California Sur will start on Sunday April 5th, 2020, when the clocks will be moved forward by one hour at 2 a.m.

Note about US & European Clock Time Changes

Not all of Mexico’s clock-time change dates are synchronized with U.S. or European clock-time change dates, so if you’re traveling or scheduling appointments between Mexico, the US, and Europe this spring and autumn, make a note to double-check your times, especially as flights and other public transportation systems always operate their schedules using local time.

Mexico in your inbox

Our free newsletter about Mexico brings you a monthly round-up of recently published stories and opportunities, as well as gems from our archives.