Mexico Essentials

Mexico’s Spring Clock Change in 2018

Details about Mexico's clock-time changes in Spring 2018

Spring Clock-Time Changes

Except for two Mexican states that do not observe Daylight Savings Time (DST), Mexico moves its clocks forward by one hour — on March 11, 2018 or April 1, 2018 — depending on the location.

The states of Sonora and Quintana Roo are not observing DST

The Mexican states of Sonora and Quintana Roo (which includes the popular resorts of Cancún, Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Isla Mujeres and Cozumel) will not observe DST in 2018.

Spring Clock Changes in Mexico 2018 (“Spring Forward”)

The state of Baja California (not to be confused with Baja California Sur) and  Mexican cities immediately bordering the US (including Juárez, Reynosa, and Matamoros) clocks move forward one hour at 2 a.m. on Sunday March 11, 2018.

DST in mainland Mexico (except the states of Sonora and Quintana Roo) and Baja California Sur will start on Sunday April 1st, 2018, when the clocks will be moved forward by one hour at 2 a.m.

Note about US & European Clock Time Changes

Mexico’s mainland clock-time change dates are not usually synchronized with U.S. or European clock-time change dates, so if you’re traveling or scheduling appointments between Mexico, the US, and Europe this spring and autumn, make a note to double-check your times, especially as flights and other public transportation systems always operate their schedules using local time.

See Also: Mexico’s Time Zones

Mexico in your inbox

Our free newsletter about Mexico brings you a monthly round-up of recently published stories and opportunities, as well as gems from our archives.